GRaham Norwood

Graham Norwood writes, plays and sings songs of uncommon beauty. His 3-1/2 octave vocal range, dynamic guitar playing, and eclectic songwriting chops allow him to work in a wide range of styles while always preserving his own unique artistic voice. That he has been legally blind from birth only makes these talents more remarkable. 

After spending years as a New York sideman and producer with the likes of Bryan Scary, Cliff Westfall, Ward White, The Dough Rollers and others, Graham decided to focus on writing and recording his own original music. His first move as a solo artist was three sets of songs written and arranged for three different bands, exploring a wide variety of different sounds.  One of those song-sets was recorded by Bryce Goggin (Pavement, Antony & the Johnsons, Evan Dando, Phish). Later, some additional recording and a full mix was done by John Agnello (Kurt Vile, Son Volt, Sonic Youth, Dinosaur Jr), and the result is Graham's first full length album, titled Out of the Sea.  But first, a four-song EP called Sundry Songs comes out, first digitally, and then in limited edition 10" vinyl and CD editions in early 2019. 

On stage Graham is equally electrifying as a solo act or with his band. The Graham Norwood Group's shows run the gamut from mellow country-rock to full-on fuzz guitar freakouts. This stellar band features drummer David Christian (Danger Mouse, King Tuff, Mary Timony's Helium, Benjamin Booker), guitarist Simon Kafka (Ellie King, Carly Rae Jepsen), bassist James Preston (Tom Jones, Raheem DeVaughn, Sons of Champlin) and keyboardist/guitarist Bryan Smith. Solo, Graham puts the emphasis on his vocals and dexterous guitar playing, mixing in off-the-cuff covers of obscure British folk artists and classic honky tonk singers with his own eclectic material. Whether he's playing with a full band or captivating a room with just his voice and acoustic guitar, Graham’s performances are not to be missed.


This feature is rendered via ajax